The Woad that is actually (Dyers) Weld

This is embarrassing. It’s what happens when you grow a plant that you have never actually observed from seed to dye pot. The Woad I thought I was growing is really Dyer’s Weld. Yellow not blue. More yellow. A really good, clear Lemon yellow but still more yellow.

Dyer's Weld

Before it began to bloom it could have been either.

Weld (not Woad) with Bee

However, as it blossomed it became obvious that the plant I had was not what I thought it was.  Checked every image I could find including the Druid Plant Oracle and I definitely was not growing Woad.

Weld

So I’ve got Weld, Dyer’s Weld. Nice looking plant. The bees seem to like it. Works on wool (protine fibers – so not cotton).

3 Responses to “The Woad that is actually (Dyers) Weld”


  1. 1 Helen Melvin July 29, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    well you certainly have a nice weld plant! If you add a splash of ammonia or stale urine or washing soda you will get a stunning bright yellow! Overdyed with woad -when you do get it a fabulous green.

  2. 2 jmjamison July 29, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    In the end did turn out – a good yellow, and I have seeds to start new plants for next year. I just felt a bit silly for the misidentifying.

    By the way, I’ve been following your site for some time. Beautiful images.


  1. 1 Summer and Fennel « backyard dyer Trackback on July 1, 2009 at 4:30 am

Leave a Reply

