More about the Woad that is really Weld

Since I now know what I’m actually growing I’ve been reading up on Dyer’s Weld (Reseda luteola) – Ida Grae, etc. It can be used fresh or dried  and I’ll probably harvest the tops as they bloom and dry them.

I put a yard stick in the picture for size context. Picture below is a 2nd year plant. I’d say it falls between my elbow and shoulder but since I’m behind the camera that doesn’t give anyone an idea of the height.

1 Response to “More about the Woad that is really Weld”


  1. 1 Bev September 2, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Are you interested in exchanging by mail, some of your Southern California Weld seeds for some Northern California Woad seeds? Mine are mature now. I am interested in doing a double dye project on wool, of saxon green. Sadly having a tough time finding seeds for the weld.


Leave a Reply

